Day 10 of #30daysofme

Day 10 – songs you listen to when you are happy, sad, bored, hyped, mad.

Music has always been a big part of my life, and probably something that I could not cope without. I seem to attach a lot of meaning to certain songs, and can remember where and when things have happened when I hear some tunes. If I am able to, I will listen to certain music to try and change the way that I am feeling. And it works!

I’ve also found that certain music or artists reduce the severity of my road rage. On a good day I don’t suffer at all. Admittedly I rarely drive at the moment but when I was driving to work everyday I did notice a difference. I also think that if it’s something that you can sing along to, and enjoy singing along to, that helps a great deal. Maybe this is something that I could research and write a paper on, but maybe it has already been done.

Happy music: Definitely The Beatles. Also David Bowie, The Killers, Lou Reed and Scissor Sisters.

Sad music: Duffy, Patsy Cline, John Lennon, Gomez, The Beatles. And Hurt, sung by Johnny Cash.

Bored music: The Whitlams (Eternal Nightcap), Blur, The Beatles.

Hyped music: Scissor Sisters, Mark Ronson, Foo Fighters, Gwen Stefani, Led Zeppelin, David Bowie, The Beatles.

Mad/Angry music: used to be Korn but I don’t find it helps anymore. I tend to play my happy music to try and turn my mood around.

As much as I complain about the music that they play at work, most of it I don’t actually mind. I enjoy a lot of the older stuff and I really like to sing along!

Sooo, any Beatles fans out there?

4 responses to “Day 10 of #30daysofme

  1. Yup, definitely a Beatles fan. What’s your favourite song?

    • That’s a very tough choice. I’ve always loved Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds (and the whole Sgt. Peppers album) but lately I’ve been flogging Abbey Road and I love love love I Want You (She’s So Heavy). It sounds awesome and it’s even better LOUD!
      Are you a Beatles fan? Have you got a favourite song? Or album?

  2. I am, but I’m not sure I could choose any one song. I like their early stuff best though, which goes against the grain of most Beatles fans!

Leave a Reply

