Day 19 of #30daysofme

Day 19 – nicknames you have and why you have them.

Ange – definitely my preferred name. I’m just Ange.  Because my name is pronounced Angela but spelt Angelia, I get sick of explaining that the ‘i’ is silent, so I just go with Ange. (Tip: Don’t give your kids oddly spelt names, it causes more grief in the long run).

Angie – family ONLY! People mistakenly call me Angie at work and it sounds so wrong, but I don’t even notice when it’s family.

Pange/Angie-Pangie – puddin’ and pie!

Rusty – my Uncle Mark started this one.  It’s from the Vacation series of movies, and it has just stuck.

Antch, Antchula, Scumby – my Uncle Peewee comes up with lots of nicknames.  I remember a birthday card one year that he had listed all of his nicknames for me in.  It filled half of the card.

I think nicknames can be fun, as long as there is no malice or nastiness behind the name.

Leave a Reply

